A block like whoa

I’ve been going through some writer’s block.  I know that can be a touchy term, as there are writers who insist it doesn’t exist, etc.  But that’s what I’m choosing to call what I’m going through.

I moved to Georgia a month ago.  I’ve been out of work for a month and a half.  I’m 2 books behind on my GoodReads challenge (and this is after I dropped 10 books from the goal!) and I’ve written almost nothing in weeks.  I haven’t even read The Cuckoo’s Calling yet.  Uggh.

The other day, I went to a coffee shop, took a little notebook, and filled out about six little pages.  It came out to about 500 words.  I doubled that later.  There were two characters I’ve had a while, it wasn’t a full story, and it was based on a real conversation I’ve had.  Not much creativity went into it at all, though I did try to be more descriptive than usual (lack of description = big problem in my writing).  It wasn’t much.  But if I can keep working on it, I might just hit something good.

I have two books picked out to read (The Cuckoo’s Calling and the first Mortal Instruments book), and reading always helps me write.  I really think this block comes from my lack of reading, but I’m having trouble sitting down and doing it.  Being in a new place, trying to find a job, and having a new fandom (Welcome to Night Vale, uughh, I can barely handle it, go listen to it now if you haven’t already) have really limited my reading time.  Struggling.

Maybe posting here will help!  Hello!

I also have a new tattoo (got on JKR/HP’s birthday) and it’s beautiful.

Leave a Reply

